3rd and last page of photos kindly loaned by J Scanlon & Jarrow & Hebburn History Society. This is the 'Banks of the Tyne' before burning down. The Commercial Hotel on Lyon St/Ellison St corner with the Store Hall and Co-op shops just in view. Looking up Ellison St from the riverside. The car looks like a 1930's/40's model. Children are also playing on the bank.
           
A lovely photo taken by John Diamond showing the Ark Royal passing Hebburn Ferry Landing in 1984-5 with 'Tyne Queen' waiting for it to pass. A photo we've all seen in various local books, but still worth including What a shame this Sports field has been built on. See the oldest house in Hebburn behind it & also gone? It was once the East Lodge for Ellison Hall.
           
Today this view shows a modern housing estate on Leslies field. The Poplar trees are still there as a reminder. The 'Newtown School' opened in 1875 just before demolition.Wickham Rd is next left off Station Rd. An old postcard showing Palmer's Ship Yard crane just after they took over in 1911/12. Before that it was 'Robert Stephenson's' yard
           
The old 'Quay Board School' bounded by Lyon St, William St and McIntyre St just before demolition Snowy Ellison St taken from near 'Hewison's Paper Shop' on the corner of Lyon St in 1957.That's the old Post Office past that lady. The Co-op store & 'Store Hall' taken from where Carr St once was & looking up what was Albert St with 'The Albert' & 'Gem'.